The Southwest Mississippi Mental Health Complex (SWMMHC) has provided services since September 1974 to residents of its service area.

Today, Mississippi is divided into 15 mental health regions. SWMMHC is considered Region Eleven.     Region Eleven consists of nine (9) counties: Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Franklin, Lawrence, Jefferson, Pike, Walthall and Wilkinson in Southwest Mississippi.

The Region 11 administrative office is located in McComb. The Satellite Office for the region is in Natchez.

Currently, SWMMHC has six (6) divisions including Administrative Services, Children & Youth Services, Community Support Services, Long Term Services, Medical Services and Mental Health Services. The staff includes psychiatrists, psychologists, nurse practitioners, therapists, community support specialists, substance abuse prevention specialists, recovery support counselors, nurses and other support staff.

The Southwest Mississippi Mental Health & Mental Retardation Commission, Region Eleven's governing board, oversees its operations.

Since 1974, SWMMHC has grown considerably with more than 15 sites. The Complex is not a federal or state agency that receives a legislative appropriation to fund its services. We are a non-profit, public-service agency. For this reason, we depend on fees for services, grants, county support, reimbursement from third party providers (Medicaid, Medicare & insurance) and donations to support our services. Even though fees are charged, many persons living within our region qualify for a discounted fee on our sliding fee scale, based on family income and number of family members.
Southwest Mississippi Mental Health Complex logo
Copyright 2014 Southwest Mississippi Mental Health Complex - Website design Krystal Montgomery ~ Richard McKenzie - Background photo of Lake Yucatan courtesy of Mytchiko McKenzie